Goodbye Summer

Goodbye summer. It was nice to get to know you during the time we had together.  I always look forward to your visits and I’m reluctant to let you go.  It has always been that way with us.  You blowing into town and me eagerly anticipating your arrival.  We have such a short time together and then you are gone just like that. I am left alone by the telephone and I know you won’t call me, or even send me an e-mail.

I know  by now I should expect this but every time you leave it seems a bit abrupt and I’m left with the feeling that I’m being used.  You breeze in and you stick around never paying a dime in rent.  Then you leave again.  You say; “It’s business baby.”

But why all the way across the world?  Are you spreading your sunshine all over someplace else? Is some other hemisphere going to get your love?  Say it isn’t so, summer.  I thought we meant something to each other.   Those long walks we’d have along the beach, the plans and dreams we had for the future.

This time I thought it would be different, but there you go again….

GOODBYE SUMMER.

Strawberryindigo.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer

  1. Pingback: Texas Heat :: Goodbye, Summer « Juniper Sunrise

Join the conversation!

