life’s little pleasures

 Right now

This very moment. This is just one out of a seemingly endless round of moments that make up your life.  How you fill these segments in time becomes your story.

It can be difficult sometimes to weed out the minutiae and  it’s easy to get caught up in the day-to-day trivialities and miss what is truly important.  This often happens with me.  Life in this modern world can get stressful especially during “interesting” times like these.

During my recent “bout of wicked overdoneness” I was forced to slow down.  This allowed me to catch my breath and really see what was truly going on.  I realised that little by little I was missing the small things.  Life’s little pleasures that I enjoyed so much.   I  didn’t notice they were disappearing until they were gone.

 I have been trying to appreciate the small things whenever and wherever I can find them. Sometimes it’s not easy, I’m a sensitive person and I have my share of bad news and bad days.   I find that it is after one of these bad days that I need  life’s little pleasures all the more.

About three weeks ago I made a plan of action. A basic outline of activities that I would try to incorporate into my daily life. These are very simple things.  They appeal to me personally. I have taken on each one of them.  Some are obviously easier than others. I am still working on the last one.

Life’s little pleasures plan of action master list.

Greet the day: Soon after waking I will greet the day by going out to the back porch for a breath of fresh morning air and a much-needed intake of some urban  nature in the backyard. 

Stretch:  I will stretch my body and my mind. I will explore new horizons and grow.

Walk:  I will walk, to move my body,no matter the weather. To get out into the community and out into the world. I will seek out natural areas.  I will go off the beaten path. I will explore.

Stop:  I will stop and notice the simple beauty that surrounds me everyday.  A bird, the sky. A smile from a child, the laugh of a loved one.  I will take it all in and try to find the goodness in everything I see.

Dance:  And sing and let it all out. I will embrace my inner child and go with those eccentric urges and just have fun.

Let go I will learn to let go of that which I cannot control and just simply Enjoy Life as it comes.

Wishing You an Amazing Day! 

Strawberryindigo.

34 thoughts on “life’s little pleasures

  1. Pingback: small things list | My Life In Color

  2. I love this post, I like your plan of attack. I want to embrace each day. I vow to live this second half of my life in glorious colour, I WILL dance when the mood strikes, with a song in my heart and with my eyes wide open… thanks. I am smiling.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on findingmyworth and commented:
    Loved this action plan and had to share. We have to treasure the little pleasures in life, because those little pleasures one day will be the memories that push you through. If we continue to take life for granted we will by default be taking ourselves for granted. Stop. breath. dance. live.

    Like

  4. What a great action plan. 🙂 I think I may need to incorporate a few of the steps into my daily routine. Sometimes that is just what we need to give us that nudge to remember, hey don’t let it pass you by, breath.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Where Are Those Manual Buttons? « morezennow

  6. You are so right! It seems that I never have time to just sit and breathe sometimes. I’m pulled in so many directions…I even struggle to get on my blog and read other’s blogs because everybody always needs me for something. But someday my kids will be gone and I must appreciate all their little things here and now.
    Great post and I will put these tips at the top of my Must Do List because I want to, not because I have to! 🙂

    Like

    • Hey Beckie: I’m there with you, But nothing is forever. I don’t know the age of your kids but mine are 14 and 17 and I don’t have to tell you that time passes by quickly but it really does.

      Like

  7. Every year I get a new appointment calendar – the kind with beautiful photos, and a little box for each day of the week. Before I go to sleep I write what I’m grateful for in the day that I’ve just lived. That practice helped me learn to notice the little moments of beauty in my day. For that’s what we have, a necklace of little moments strung together into a life, and as you said, into our story. Today my entry will say “I saw the first redbud tree in bloom, and a blooming azalea red enough to stop traffic. The attendant at the Goodwill donation center had the brightest smile and kind eyes. My dog and I met our favorite neighbor dog, Max, on our morning walk. The sky was brilliantly blue and it was a free-toes day: warm enough to wear sandals without socks.” Keep noticing the little things!

    Like

  8. I loved that! thanks for the reminder, life is too important to get caught up in the busy stuff. I am going outside right now. My dog will love it too.

    Like

    • Hello Cathy! The greeting the day part has really been working wonders on my mood. The birds have been singing such lovely songs that sometimes I have to whistle right back at them. Thanks for visiting. It is always nice to see you. 🙂

      Like

  9. You had me following and completely wrapped-up until you got to the dance part! Just kidding! I know people love it and that it does wonders for them. Very nice words to incorporate into our lives. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    • Hello there seekraz: Thank you for thanking me. I think you would love dancing if you really tried it. I like to dance around when I make dinner in the evening, my kids and probably the neighbors too, already know I am crazy and they are used to it. But it is fun and it keeps me from gaining weight all over the place. 😉

      Like

Join the conversation!

