The Writer’s Lament

Hey you writers out there, are you like me? Do you long for days of uninterrupted silence? Do you fantasize about having hours upon hours of free time devoted to your only real love: Writing?

I may be the only one who’s so obsessed…and I am obsessed. I can think of nothing better than to tap tap tap my life away if only I had the time and the silence.  Oh blessed silence…can I be the only one who craves this silence?

I don’t have to tell anyone how noisy our modern world is already and the distractions…there are so many distractions. I get started with my tapping and before you know it, life rears its inevitable head and drags me back to reality for in which there is limited room for anything remotely resembling tapping.

Here I am in a rare moment, I have all afternoon and I’m set to write about one of my favorite subjects; Being Different in -The Daily Post’s Weekly Writing Challenge and then a million things happen and there is no time.

I am a mom and I have all the responsibilities just like everyone else. I probably don’t have to tell you this; we are all busy with our lives.  Most of us don’t have much free time and there is always some minor crisis to keep me more than occupied.

I admit that at times I can be hard to live with.  I tend to be lost in thought about something or another and there tends to be a lot of something or another’s swimming around in my half-crazed brain.  l admit I get pent-up and rather testy when I can’t get the opportunity to write…and like a junkie who needs a fix, once I get what I crave, I’m happy again. I do admit it’s an affordable addiction and who knows, perhaps all this craziness will pay off in the end?

I’m sure most writers and artists in general are a little on the obsessive side.  I mean I could name names but why bother. We all know this is true…and really when I get to think about it….even you; if you are any kind of writer at all, I bet you are a bit crazy too just like the rest of us…and that you know that I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I guess I should be grateful. If I had it my way, I’d probably tap tap tap my way to oblivion…..I would be going a mile a minute..faster and faster and then suddenly I would just explode: KA-BOOM!

I could see the scene now…my spent carcass slumped over a burned-out laptop, dirty coffee cups and piles and piles of printed word surrounding me….What a mess…

Perhaps that will do…

MUCH HAPPINESS,

Strawberryindigo.

NOTE:

I have been off “adventuring”and have been limited on time, that is why I haven’t been posting much. I am not AWOL.  This is only temporary and I will be up and running at full speed in a couple of weeks.

I look forward to catching up with our visits after all this is over. I will be back full of wonderous tales about my “exotic” adventures.

20 thoughts on “The Writer’s Lament

  1. My apology dear for being soo late to greet you happy happy birthday, we all have moments and I understand, it is really hard to divide time between our love in writing and our love in our family…. Have a blessed week …. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: word surge: can’t stop tapping those keys « give me a daisy

  3. We all have our moments and then we get back on the keyboard and bang something out… Birthday for you?
    “Happy Belated Birthday to you! 🙂
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

    Like

  4. I hope your adventures were wonderful! I loved the image of you slumped in your chair surrounded by dead laptop and empty coffee cups. But no exploding writer, please! I want to keep reading your stuff!

    Like

  5. I can’t write in silence . . . I have tinnitus, and if it’s too quiet my brain starts providing it’s own noise. Music for me, usually nothing crazy (one of my playlists:http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLEDC3E70D399EA4BA).

    Also, I must not be a writer . . . I get distracted by my other hobbies.

    Still, I do look forward to when I retire, but do so with caution. Many writers lament the fact that when they do have a lot of time, they tend to procrastinate, and are often less productive.

    Like

    • Hey Disperser: Great list–I can’t get behind the Dido but the rest of it’s good especially the Floyd which is excellent to write to…sorry about the tinnitus…must drive you crazy…
      You are so right about the procrastination. I have to watch out for that.
      Thanks for the comments 🙂

      Like

  6. Ooh, sounds exciting! Before I say anything else Strawberryindigo, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you,… Have a wonderful day full of sunshine, smiles, coffee ( 😉 ), and I hope some chocolate! (I have sent a slice of the pumpkin cake, hope it gets through customs!)
    I also wish you lots of precious writing time – love the post! Hugs!

    Like

Join the conversation!

