We share the same sky

Credit: SBI

Credit: SBI

The night air is hot
Heavy dark and damp
I sit by the back door of my imagination
in the green denseness of dreams
there lies a brick courtyard
that faces the western sea
The rain grows hard
and blows soft mists
across my warm face
I imagine they are your tender kisses
and a smile forms across my ruby lips
I gaze out into the abyss
straight to the deep nothings that darkness
creates from everyday
A thought from the back of my mind
comes forward
commands me to
pay attention
I can do nothing else
and the dark trees and moonlit sky
beckon me toward the light
through a meadow of wet silvery grass
there is a pool where my dreams lie
across a galaxy and  six thousand miles
waiting for the impossible
by the back door
on an idle rainy Friday
and the sky opens up
stars like tears that stain the night
the persistent moon
haunts the sky
the very same lonely sky we share
and your name lies unspoken on my lips
like a lost promise
under the warmth
of a distant sun

.

©2013 copyright. N.L. McKinley

glass cosmic-explosion-1360359523BCu

 (YouTube)

ACROSS the UNIVERSE by The Beatles

Interstellar Overdrive by PINK FLOYD

TED TALK–Brian Greene: Is our universe the only universe?

.

22 thoughts on “We share the same sky

  1. This blew me away Nancy… beautiful! The words and ideas flow into each other. When far from loved ones I have often had the same thought that we are looking at the same stars, and it brings them nearer. I’m so glad you posted this! xxx

    Like

  2. You might not enjoy the highs as much if you didn’t experience have some of these low spots. Go with the flow, my friend and hope the clouds hanging over us will soon pass.

    Like

Join the conversation!

