Wander

 

 

“Not all those who wander are lost.”

J. R. R. Tolkien

I sit and stare at the blank page waiting to be filled with splashes and sploshes of delightful and colorful words. Words that convey a profound wisdom and grace. Words that draws one in. Words that come alive. Words that tease the imagination and beckons you to play. You have fun all day in the sun and before you realize it, you’ve learned something. At least I want my writing to be like that but lately….not so much…

 

I remember when I started blogging. I would read many a post from a fellow blogger who would begin the post with a “Sorry I’ve been gone so long but...”  I swore I would never do that but it seems like I’m doing that now.

I could say that I’ve haven’t had much time to write but who does really? I know one must make time to write and I haven’t done that.  I suppose I haven’t wanted to or I haven’t had anything to say. I seem to be running away from something. My thoughts perhaps?  There is a running dialogue that presents itself to me.  It fills my mind and it races almost too fast for me to keep up.  I will read things I have written previously and be awestruck at the strangeness of it. I recognize bits of myself but other bits I don’t recognize quite as well.

I have been using my travel time to work to just sit. I zone out and allow my mind to be still which usually leads to some interesting meandering.  I’m taking it all in; whatever crosses my path on my journey literally and figuratively.  I just allow myself to just be.

 

art girl blowing bubbles planets

Writing has always been therapeutic. I’ve put my feelings down in words ever since I could hold a pencil. It’s been my outlet to the outside world. Starting this blog and writing over 200 posts has profoundly changed me.  I’ve grown in leaps and bounds over the last four years. Never can I go back to what I once was. I must forge ahead. Part of that forging is taking my writing to the next level. I haven’t submitted much as I find I have nothing I deem worthy.

Putting heart and soul out there in words is what I do best, but there are a million others who can say the same thing. Who am I to presume that I have anything to say that anyone would want to hear, must less pay for?  I realize now that I should abandon my hope of being a paid writer as money cannot be my focus. I have to go where my heart lies and seldom in this life do the two go hand and hand.

I have been distracted by life and rightly so.  Whatever I write is not only deeply effected by my current experiences, it is built on them. I put myself into it. I don’t know of any other way.

I have been conflicted as of late on what to write at all really.  I have some bits and pieces that I have written lately, many are tinged with an anger at the state of the world.  I am a crazy idealistic dreamer who goes on pessimistic forays now and then but I always return with a  renewed sense of vigor. This is vigor has been rising up but is confused as to which way to go.  I always have to have a answer. I cannot seem to finish a writing piece without having the issue settled in my mind and it seems everything is up in the air and I don’t have all the answers. I’m learning that is okay too.

 

vintage girl and elephant friend

 

I’m trying to live in the moment and just take life in. I am grateful for what I have and I am enjoying whatever comes. I am content but restless. I feel like something is left undone and I have a strange feeling of deja vu right now. It’s like my future self is rooting for me to do the right thing —whatever that is. Honestly I don’t know sometimes…

I also have been finding myself getting lost the beauty of the words of others such as  those of Mary Oliver who has in the short span of a year has become one of my favorite writers.  I feel a kinship with her writing. I love the whimsy and the focus on the small and quiet things of nature, on that which is difficult to hear but essential to the ear.   I’ve been ordering them one by one from the library. I look forward to cracking open a new book . Her words have made me laugh and cry, they have delighted and amused me, they have made me think.  Never before have I been so emotionally affected by writing. Her words are so real, so poignant and oh so lovely. They are a beautiful escape to me. I see myself there, I identify and find kinship there. And then it dawns on me; that maybe I can do some of that too, in my own way.  Provide an escape. A refuge in words and imagery for others to retreat to too.  Writing doesn’t have to be “important” all the time, or wise or impressive to mean something to someone. To touch another person with words is amazing and I would love someday to be able to touch people like Mary Oliver has touched me.

 

 

zoo girl and duck

Something to ponder on a cold and windy day in November….

Seems like I’m back for a spell.

~NLM

 

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-13 cat shadow girl

 

“Instructions for living a life.
Pay attention.
Be astonished.
Tell about it.”
Mary Oliver

 

 

*

14 thoughts on “Wander

  1. Nancy, nice to read you again. I know what you mean about those “sorry I’ve been gone” posts, and I too have spend time meandering through my old posts wondering where that person, that writer went. The words don’t flow as they did for me years ago. Maybe that is ok. I hope you find and come to enjoy your new writing rhythm, whatever shape or form it may be.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am glad you are back as well:) Writing is a tricky thing and the biggest lesson I am learning too is accepting wherever I am. There are things to be learned in every stage, even the pauses. Blogging has been a help as to practice and thoughts, and meeting fellows in the blog world. Hope you continue writing both here and elsewhere and well. Love hearing your “voice” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “To touch another person with words is amazing and I would love someday to be able to touch people like Mary Oliver has touched me.”

    I’m going to say something profound . . . presumptuous, I know, but nonetheless I believe what I am about to say is so.

    To provide an escape for others, you must first provide an escape for yourself . . . and your words can only touch another if they first touch you.

    Deep, ain’t it? The thing is, you’ve already written posts that have touched others (reread the comments on your past posts). Just keep writing what you feel. Some will be touched by your words, others won’t, but regardless, you can’t force that reaction; it only comes in response to honest writing and, like I said, you already have that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you’re back Nancy! I always love reading your words and seeing what quotes and pictures you have found to accompany them. You get me thinking or cheer up a dull day. And I am sure I am not the only one who feels that way, so whenever you have something to say just write it down and we are here to listen. Blogging has changed me too. I have more confidence than before, and realise I have something to offer that interests at least a few other people. When I was teaching I always hoped that if I made a lasting impression on just one student that would be enough – and I did and it is. So keep writing! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Cathy! So great to hear from you. I have missed you. Thanks for liking my writing that makes me happy! 😀 Blogging is such a good outlet. I’m so glad that it has helped you as well. I plan on being around more. I am working on some stuff now. I will also be over later to see what you have been up to.

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

